World Series Of Poker Begins Collecting Hall Of Fame Nominations


The Poker Hall of Fame, owned and controlled by the World Series of Poker, has opened up its nomination process for the class of 2018.

In addition to the 40 years of age requirement, the other criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are that the player must have competed “against acknowledged top competition” and “for high stakes,” while playing “consistently well” and “gaining the respect of peers.” The player must have lasted in the poker world too, as another standard is that they “stood the test of time.” For those in the industry who aren’t or weren’t poker pros, they must have “contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.” So far, 54 people have satisfied those requirements.

Poker players and fans can submit their online nomination here.

The Poker Hall of Fame has no physical presence and only exists in cyberspace.

Last year, Phil Ivey and the late David “Devilfish” Ulliott were inducted. They were selected after the nominations were narrowed down to a list of 10 finalists that also included Matt Savage, Max Pescatori, David Chiu, Mori Eskandani, Ted Forrest, Thor Hansen, Mike Matusow and Huck Seed. All are eligible for consideration again this year.

The list of 10 was created after the public nomination process and a vetting of the nominations by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council. The process then moves to the living members and an 18-person panel of media members to determine who gets inducted.

The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually. The enshrinement ceremony is held in concert with the final table of the main event.

Here is a look at all 54 players inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame.

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015
Carlos Mortensen 2016
Todd Brunson 2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Phil Ivey 2017