George Antonakos Wins 2018 CPPT Bicycle Hotel & Casino Main Event


George Antonakos has won the 2018 Card Player Poker Tou Bicycle Hotel & Casino main event, outlasting a massive field of 2,180 total entries to earn $75,365 after striking a deal when the final seven were reached. This was the 42-year-old amateur from Marina Del Rey’s second largest score, behind his second-place finish in an event at the Borgata in 2010 for $110,434. He was in for one $245 buy-in in this event.

“It’s a great ROI man! It’s fantastic,” said Antonakos. “If somebody told me three days ago I’d be chopping it for $75,000 Antonakos I’d be ecstatic. It’s unbelievable.”

This event featured a $500,000 guarantee that was blown away when 2,027 entries were made during the 12 starting flights and another 153 direct buy-in entries of $1,800 were made on day 2. The huge turnout blew away the guarantee to build a final prize pool of $675,023.

The final day of the event began with 34 players remaining and Warwick Mirzikinian in the lead. He ultimately succumbed in 19th place, earning $4,545. Late on the final day Antonakos took control. He won gigantic pots to leave Amir Ghazvinian on fumes and eliminate Thi Truong. In the later hand he made the nut flush against Truonh’s top two pair to send her to the rail and take the chip lead.

Alex Rapoport eliminated 2015 Card Player Poker Tour Hollywood Park main event champion Adam Volen in eighth place, calling the former CPPT champs all-in with pocket queens. Volen’s pocket eights couldn’t come from behind and he was sent to the rail with $12,615.

After playing seven handed for a while, the remaining players decided to consider making a deal. Eventually, final terms were agreed upon, with clear chip leader George Antonakos securing the largest payout and the title.

Here is a look at the payouts from the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD)
1 George Antonakos $75,365
2 Alex Beleson $48,031
3 Alex Rapoport $45,688
4 Kyle Cameron $45,797
5 Dany Georges $43,797
6 Cody Bell $43,925
7 Tom Trang $34,838
8 Adam Volen $12,615
9 Steve Henning $9,605