Money Bubble Bursts In 2018 World Series of Poker Main Event


After complete three days of play, the 2018 World Series of Poker $10,000 buy-in Main Event has actually narrowed the second-largest field in the competition’s history (7,874 entries) down to simply 1,182 players remaining. With the removal of Matthew Hopkins, the final 1,182 players remaining locked up a min-cash of at least $15,000 payday in this year’s world champion. Obviously, they all still have their eyes on the champion bracelet and the prize of $8,800,000.

Hopkins was gotten rid of when moved all-in over the top of Bryce McVay’s 15,000 raise from middle position. Hopkins jammed for 49,000 with the AClub Suit5Heart Suit and McVay called with the ADiamond SuitQSpade Suit. McVay remained in a dominant position heading into the flop, and the board went out 10Heart Suit8Diamond Suit6Diamond Suit2Heart SuitASpade Suit to put an end to hand-for-hand play. Although he was knocked out on the bubble, Hopkins did not leave empty-handed. The WSOP provided him a consolation prize: a seat into the 2019 centerpiece.

When the dust settled In Sun Geoum was the chip leader with 1,696,000. Other top stacks include Frankie Flowers (1,624,000), Samuel Bernabeu (1,418,000), Michael Lavenburg (1,356,000) and Julius Malzanini (1,292,000).

A variety of the most significant names in the game are still in with a lot of chips, consisting of a set of two-time bracelet winners in Eric Froelich (1,235,000) and Ben Yu (1,040,000), online tournament poker’s greatest winner Chris Moorman (969,000), three-time World Poker Tour main event winner Chino Rheem (904,000), ten-time bracelet winner Phil Ivey (827,000), Patrik Antonius (460,000) and a lot more.

2015 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event 29th location finisher Kelly Minkin was the last player standing that year. She bagged up 795,000 at the end of day 3, and is seeming the last player of any gender staying in 2018. Card Player Television overtook Minkin previously in the day for a fast interview concerning her begin to day 3 and more. Have a look at the video listed below:

5 previous winners of the main event are still alive with an opportunity of ending up being repeat champs. Johnny Chan (162,000) is the only player entrusted to a chance at ending up being a three-time champ in this occasion, having actually won back-to-back titles in 1987 and 1988. 2010 winner Jonathan Duhamel (450,000), 2009 champ Joe Cada (211,000), 2002 winner Robert Varkonyi (181,100) and 1998 champ Scotty Nguyen (74,300) are all still in contention too.

A few of the many significant gamers that cannot endure day 3 consist of six-time bracelet winner Chris Ferguson, Jason Koon, David Bach, Anthony Zinno, Alex Foxen, Steffen Sontheimer, Erick Lindgren, Jason Mercier, comic Ray Romano, 2012 champ of this occasion Greg Merson and all-time WSOP bracelet leader Phil Hellmuth.

The ‘Poker Brat’ got the last of his stack in preflop with ASpade SuitKClub Fit ahead of his Jans Arends’ ADiamond Suit9Diamond Match. A 9 increased the river to send out Hellmuth house midway through the day.

The last 1,182 gamers will return for day 4 at 11 a.m. PT on Sunday, July 8.