Phil Galfond Wins Third Career World Series of Poker Bracelet


Card Player’s 2018 WSOP coverage is sponsored by BetOnline Poker. Get a 100 percent deposit bonus, up to $1,000, by joining now. The site offers great cash game action and a chance to win more than $1 million in guaranteed tournaments throughout the month.

Phil Galfond won his third World Series of Poker bracelet early Monday morning, topping a field of 237 players in the $10,000 buy-in pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better event to earn a $567,788 payday.

As a legendary high-stakes cash player known online as “OMGClayAiken,” Galfond has logged plenty of time on the felt, but playing a pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better tournament was still a relatively new experience for him.

“I’ve basically never played PLO8 online,” Galfond admitted to WSOP reporters. “There is a mix game I’ve been playing live for two and a half years, 12 games, and one of them is PLO8. So, I’ve played a little bit. Honestly, I don’t think it helped me very much. So, I was figuring out as I went. I think I definitely ended the tournament a better tournament PLO8 player than I started.”

Galfond, who has spent the last couple years launching a poker site, earned his first bracelet in the 2008 $5,000 pot-limit Omaha event, taking home $817,781. His second bracelet came in the 2015 $10,000 no-limit 2-7 lowball event, good for another $224,383. The 33-year-old from North Potomac, Maryland now has nearly $2.9 million in live tournament earnings.

The final table included bracelet winners Marco Johnson (6th), and David Baker (7th). Michael Mckenna, who finished second for $350,922, recorded his second final table of the summer after previously taking fourth in the $1,500 razz event.

Other notables who finished in the money included Brandon Shack-Harris (12th), Randy Ohel (16th), Cliff Josephy (19th), Eli Elezra (22nd), Julien Martini (25th), Ryan Laplante (32nd), and Nick Schulman (35th).

Here is a look at the final table results.

Place Player Payout POY Points
1 Phil Galfond $567,788 960
2 Michael Mckenna $350,922 800
3 Ali Abduljabbar $240,497 640
4 Chad Power $168,275 480
5 Kwang Lee $120,263 400
6 Marco Johnson $87,830 320
7 David Baker $65,579 240
8 Chase Steely $50,086 160