Albert Hoekendijk Wins 2017 World Series of Poker Europe Little One For One Drop


Albert Hoekendijk outlasted a field of 868 entries to win the 2″017 World Series of Poker Europe €1,111 Little One For One Drop event.”: For the win Hoekendijk earned the €170,764 ($199,794 USD) top prize and his first gold bracelet, becoming only the fifth player from the Netherlands to win a WSOP title.

This tournament was one of the two charity events held at the 2017 WSOP Europe, which was held at the King’s Casino Rozvadov in the Czech Republic for the first time ever. Both events raised money for One Drop, a charitable organization whose mission is to provide sustainable access to clean water in impoverished communities around the globe. This event saw €50 set aside from each entry, so that the final turnout of 868 raised €43,400 for One Drop. The second event, the €111,111 High Roller for One Drop is currently ongoing, but the WSOP has announced that including these two tournaments, more than $20,000,000 has been raised for One Drop since the two parties first teamed up in 2012.

Hoekendijk entered the final day of this event in seventh chip position with 11 players remaining. Hoekendijk was able to navigate his way to heads-up play against Swiss poker pro Thomas Hofmann, entering the final showdown for the title at only a slight chip disadvantage. The two played for roughly three hours, battling for 133 hands before the contest was decided.

By the time the final hand arose Hoekendijk had built roughly a 6-to-1 chip lead over Hofmann. The Swiss raised all in from the button for approximately 2.6 million and Hoekendijk quickly made the call with the ADiamond Suit10Club Suit. He was up against Hofmann’s QClub Suit3Diamond Suit. The board ran out AClub SuitJSpade Suit6Heart Suit7Heart SuitASpade Suit and Hoekendijk made trip aces to secure the pot and the title. Hofmann earned €105,532 ($123,472 USD) as the runner-up.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

PlacePlayerEarnings (USD)POY Points
1Albert Hoekendijk$199,794912
2Thomas Hofmann$123,472760
3Johannes Toebbe$86,644608
4Abdelhakim Zoufri$61,663456
5Oleh Haisiuk$44,514380
6Jonas Lauck$32,602304
7Serghei Lisiy$24,231228
8Artan Dedusha$18,279152
9Przemyslaw Klejnowski$14,00076