World Series Of Poker Begins Collecting Hall Of Fame Nominations

World Series Of Poker Begins Collecting Hall Of Fame Nominations

The Poker Hall of Fame, owned and controlled by the World Series of Poker, has opened up its nomination process for the class of 2018.

In addition to the 40 years of age requirement, the other criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are that the player must have competed “against acknowledged top competition” and “for high stakes,” while playing “consistently well” and “gaining the respect of peers.” The player must have lasted in the poker world too, as another standard is that they “stood the test of time.” For those in the industry who aren’t or weren’t poker pros, they must have “contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.” So far, 54 people have satisfied those requirements.

Poker players and fans can submit their online nomination here.

The Poker Hall of Fame has no physical presence and only exists in cyberspace.

Last year, Phil Ivey and the late David “Devilfish” Ulliott were inducted. They were selected after the nominations were narrowed down to a list of 10 finalists that also included Matt Savage, Max Pescatori, David Chiu, Mori Eskandani, Ted Forrest, Thor Hansen, Mike Matusow and Huck Seed. All are eligible for consideration again this year.

The list of 10 was created after the public nomination process and a vetting of the nominations by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council. The process then moves to the living members and an 18-person panel of media members to determine who gets inducted.

The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually. The enshrinement ceremony is held in concert with the final table of the main event.

Here is a look at all 54 players inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame.

NameYear Inducted
Johnny Moss1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale1979
Red Winn1979
Sid Wyman1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok1979
Edmond Hoyle1979
Blondie Forbes1980
Bill Boyd1981
Tom Abdo1982
Joe Bernstein1983
Murph Harrold1984
Red Hodges1985
Henry Green1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris1989
Benny Binion1990
David “Chip” Reese1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston1992
Jack Keller1993
Julius Oral Popwell1996
Roger Moore1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar2001
Lyle Berman2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin2003
Berry Johnston2004
Jack Binion2005
Crandell Addington2005
T.J. Cloutier2006
Billy Baxter2006
Barbara Enright2007
Phil Hellmuth2007
Dewey Tomko2008
Henry Orenstein2008
Mike Sexton2009
Dan Harrington2010
Erik Seidel2010
Linda Johnson2011
Barry Greenstein2011
Eric Drache2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts2012
Scotty Nguyen2013
Tom McEvoy2013
Daniel Negreanu2014
Jack McClelland2014
Jennifer Harman2015
John Juanda2015
Carlos Mortensen2016
Todd Brunson2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott2017
Phil Ivey2017