Ka Kwan Lau Wins Pot-Limit Omaha Tournament in WSOP


The Horseshoe and Paris Las Vegas have declared the second champion of the 2023 WSOP’s Pot-Limit Omaha High Roller Event. Among the astounding 449 participants in Event #57: $25,000 Pot-Limit Omaha High Roller, PLO specialist Ka Kwan Lau emerged victorious in a thrilling showdown against Sergio Martinez Gonzalez. These skilled players, both enthusiasts of the four-card variant and fluent in Spanish, claimed the largest portions of the impressive $10,551,500 prize pool.

This event marked a historic milestone for Pot-Limit Omaha live poker tournaments at the WSOP, boasting the biggest prize pool to date. Lau’s triumph arrives two years after narrowly missing out on his first WSOP gold bracelet in the same competition. Known as “kaju85” in the online realm, Lau has earned a fearsome reputation in PLO tournaments, captivating both live and online poker enthusiasts. Though originally from Spain and holding a Hong Kong passport, he has seamlessly integrated into the tight-knit Spanish poker community since his entrance into live poker in 2010.

Currently residing in Andorra, Lau will soon be making his way back home, as the birth of his second daughter is imminent. Consequently, the four-card specialist has made the decision to forgo participation in the upcoming $50,000 Pot-Limit Omaha High Roller and the remainder of the 2023 WSOP, prioritizing his presence with his family. As he departs for Europe, Lau will be accompanied by the grand prize of $2,294,756 and his first WSOP gold bracelet, while Martinez Gonzalez receives a consolation prize of $1,418,270.

Despite starting the final day with the shortest chip stack, Andjelko Andrejevic managed to climb to the third-place position, surpassing Roger Teska and Mads Amot. Each of the five finalists vied for their inaugural WSOP victory at the Horseshoe Event Center, and Lau’s triumph further solidifies his standing among the elite four-card aficionados.

Final Table Result $25,000 Pot-Limit Omaha High Roller

Place Player Country Prize (in USD)
1 Ka Kwan Lau Hong Kong $2,294,756
2 Sergio Martinez Gonzalez Spain $1,418,270
3 Andjelko Andrejevic Serbia $989,464
4 Roger Teska United States $701,522
5 Mads Amot Norway $505,588
6 Quan Zhou China $370,498
7 Firas Kashat United States $276,141
8 Jeremy Ausmus United States $209,392