Niall Farrell Wins Poker’s Triple Crown By Taking Down 2017 WSOP Europe €25,000 High Roller

Scottish Poker Pro Becomes Eighth Player In Poker History To Win Major Titles In WSOP, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour Events


Niall Farrell defeated a field of 113 total entries to win the 2017 World Series of Poker Europe €25,000 no-limit hold’em high roller. For the win Farrell earned the €745,287 first-place prize and his first WSOP gold bracelet. As a result of the huge win the 30-year-old poker pro became only the eighth player ever in poker history to win major titles in WSOP, World Poker Tour, and European Poker Tour events. Farrell achieved what is known as poker’s Triple Crown by winning the 2015 EPT Malta €5,300 main event, the 2016 WPT Caribbean Poker Party $5,000 main eventand, of course, this title at the WSOP Europe.

“Feel fantastic,” Farrell told WSOP reporters after coming out on top. “It’s so nice to finally get over the line especially after losing heads-up twice. Especially in a field like this, it’s pretty prestigious.”

The first place payout of $871,986 USD is the largest of Farrell’s career and it brought his lifetime live tournament earnings to $4,263,540. Farrell now sits atop the Scottish all-time live poker money list, surpassing the former leader David Vamplew.

With a huge turnout for such a high buy-in event, the top 17 players made the money. Several big names made deep runs but failed to make the final table. Among those who cashed were top 2017 Card Player Player of the Year contenders like Nick Petrangelo (15th – $44,530 USD), Rainer Kempe (12th – $59,698 USD) and current POY race leader Bryn Kenney (10th – $72,006 USD).

Farrell entered the final table in fourth chip position with nine players remaining. Farrell was able to survive to four-handed play as the shortest stack before going on a run that saw him score two huge double ups and then eliminate Claas Segebrecht in third place ($376,580 USD). With that Farrell took 7-to-4 chip lead into heads-up play with 2017 WSOP main event third-place finisher Benjamin Pollak.

Join the Poker Games in New York

On the 13th hand of heads-up action, Farrell raised to 2,200,000 from the button with blinds at 300,000-600,000 with an ante of 100,000. Pollak then moved all-in from the big blind. Farrell called with the ASpade SuitJHeart Suit and was in great shape up against Pollak’s dominated AHeart Suit7Club Suit. The board ran out KSpade SuitQHeart Suit5Heart Suit9Spade Suit8Heart Suit and Farrell’s kicker made the difference, earning him the pot and the title. Pollak was awarded $538,928 USD as the runner-up. The 7000 Player of the Year poitns he earned at his fourth final table were enough to see him climb into seventh place on the overall POY leaderboard, which is presented in 2017 by the Commerce Hotel & Casino.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Niall Farrell $871,986 840
2 Benjamin Pollak $538,928 700
3 Claas Eyke Segebrecht $376,580 560
4 Ryan Riess $269,183 420
5 Sylvain Loosli $196,938 350
6 Andrew Leathem $147,552 280
7 Stefan Schillhabel $115,213 210
8 Antoine Saout $112,565 140
9 Ole Schemion $72,006 70