German Steffen Sontheimer Wins Poker Masters Purple Jacket™


German poker pro Steffen Sontheimer has won the inaugural Poker Masters event in dominant fashion. Sontheimer cashed in four of the five super high roller tournaments that comprised the unique series, winning two titles on the way. Over the course of a week he procured $2,733,000 in total tournament cashes, the metric used to determine who would be awarded the first ever Poker Masters purple jacket. Sontheimer came close to cashing in all five tournaments, finishing on the bubble in the lone event he did not make the money in.

The 2017 Poker Masters was held at Aria in Las Vegas and featured four $50,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournaments and a series-ending $100,000 buy-in event. The first high roller kicked off on September 13. The $50,000 buy-in tournament drew 51 entries, with Sontheimer finishing fourth for $204,000. Nick Schulman emerged victorious in the end, earning $918,000.

The second event of the series saw Sontheimer outlast a field of 50 entries to win $900,000. He defeated Fedor Holz heads-up for the title, sending his fellow German wunderkind to the rail with $550,000. The third tournament of the series was the lone event Sontheimer did not cash in. 2017 Card Player Player of the Year race leader Bryn Kenney emerged victorious in that one, securing the title and the top prize of $960,000.

The fourth and final $50,000 buy-in saw Brandon Adams come out on top, with Sontheimer finishing fifth for $117,000.

The series-ending $100,000 got underway on Sept. 18, drawing a field of 36 entries. Only the top six players made the money, with Stephen Chidwick being the unfortunate player that was eliminated on the $175,000 money bubble. Coming into the six-handed final table Fedor Holz held the chip lead, with Sontheimer sitting in third place.

Here is a look at the final standings in the Poker Masters earnings race:

1stSteffen SontheimerGermany$1,512,000
2ndChristian ChristnerGermany$864,000
3rdFedor HolzGermany$504,000
4thSeth DaviesUSA$324,000
5thJustin BonomoUSA$216,000
6thStefan SchillhabelGermany$180,000