Phil Galfond Wins Third Career World Series of Poker Bracelet

Phil Galfond Wins Third Career World Series of Poker Bracelet

Card Player’s 2018 WSOP coverage is sponsored by BetOnline Poker. Get a 100 percent deposit bonus, up to $1,000, by joining now. The site offers great cash game action and a chance to win more than $1 million in guaranteed tournaments throughout the month.

Phil Galfond won his third World Series of Poker bracelet early Monday morning, topping a field of 237 players in the $10,000 buy-in pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better event to earn a $567,788 payday.

As a legendary high-stakes cash player known online as “OMGClayAiken,” Galfond has logged plenty of time on the felt, but playing a pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better tournament was still a relatively new experience for him.

“I’ve basically never played PLO8 online,” Galfond admitted to WSOP reporters. “There is a mix game I’ve been playing live for two and a half years, 12 games, and one of them is PLO8. So, I’ve played a little bit. Honestly, I don’t think it helped me very much. So, I was figuring out as I went. I think I definitely ended the tournament a better tournament PLO8 player than I started.”

Galfond, who has spent the last couple years launching a poker site, earned his first bracelet in the 2008 $5,000 pot-limit Omaha event, taking home $817,781. His second bracelet came in the 2015 $10,000 no-limit 2-7 lowball event, good for another $224,383. The 33-year-old from North Potomac, Maryland now has nearly $2.9 million in live tournament earnings.

The final table included bracelet winners Marco Johnson (6th), and David Baker (7th). Michael Mckenna, who finished second for $350,922, recorded his second final table of the summer after previously taking fourth in the $1,500 razz event.

Other notables who finished in the money included Brandon Shack-Harris (12th), Randy Ohel (16th), Cliff Josephy (19th), Eli Elezra (22nd), Julien Martini (25th), Ryan Laplante (32nd), and Nick Schulman (35th).

Here is a look at the final table results.

Place Player Payout POY Points
1 Phil Galfond $567,788 960
2 Michael Mckenna $350,922 800
3 Ali Abduljabbar $240,497 640
4 Chad Power $168,275 480
5 Kwang Lee $120,263 400
6 Marco Johnson $87,830 320
7 David Baker $65,579 240
8 Chase Steely $50,086 160