Mohsin Charania Wins First World Series of Poker Bracelet


The rules for winning poker’s Triple Crown got a little murky late last year when the European Poker Tour was rebranded as the PokerStars Championship series, but there’s no doubt that Mohsin Charania joined a very exclusive list of players when he won his first World Series of Poker bracelet Thursday night.

Mohsin Charania 32-year-old poker pro topped a field of 1,580 in a $1,500 no-limit hold’em event at the 2017 summer series. The final 237 players made the money, divvying up the $2,133,000 prize pool. For his efforts, Charania took home $364,438, bringing his total live tournament earnings to more than $5.6 million.

To earn a Triple Crown, a player has to win a World Poker Tour main event, a WSOP bracelet, and an EPT or PokerStars Championship main event. The first player to win the Triple Crown was Gavin Griffin in 2008. He was followed by Roland De Wolfe, Jake Cody, Betrand Grospellier and Davidi Kitai. Charania picked up his first title in 2012, taking down the EPT Grand Final in Monte Carlo. He followed that up by winning the 2013 WPT Grand Prix De Paris in France and the 2014 WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic in Las Vegas, but the bracelet eluded him until his 45th cash in the series.

“This is pretty damn awesome,” Charania said in front of his raucous rail. “You’re kind of excited because you know that when you win a pot, everyone is going to cheer for you.”

Despite the relatively low buy-in, a number of well-known pros managed to make deep runs in the event, including Cary Katz (2nd), Andy Frankenberger (4th), Ian Steinman (7th), Rainer Kempe (15th), Philip Collins (16th), Jason Mercier (17th), Richard Seymour (24th), Kelly Minkin (26th) and Eugene Katchalov (35th).

Final Table Results

Place Player Name Country Prize (USD)
1 Mohsin Charania United States $364,438
2 Cary Katz United States $225,181
3 Brandon Ageloff United States $161,844
4 Andy Frankenberger United States $117,611
5 Mikhail Rudoy Russia $86,424
6 Samuel Phillips United States $64,226
7 Ian Steinman United States $48,276
8 Yanki Koppel United States $36,708
9 Milan Simko Czech Republic $28,239


For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2017 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

Original Article published on