Maria Ho Leads Final 12 In 2017 WSOP Europe Main Event


A total of 529 entries were made in the 2017 World Series of Poker Europe €10,3000 no-limit hold’em main event, the first-ever running of the event at the King’s Casino Rozvadov in the Czech Republic. The strong turnout built a prize pool of €5,025,500. After four full days of tournament action, there are now only 12 players remaining in the hunt for the WSOP Europechampionship bracelet and the first-place prize of €1,115,207.

The chip leader heading into day 5 is American poker pro Maria Ho. This will be Ho’s fourth WSOP final table finish, and although she has finished as high as second place, she has yet to break through and win her first gold bracelet. Ho will enter the day with 3,850,000 in chips.

Hot on Ho’s heels is Scotland’s Niall Farrell with 3,575,000. Farrell has already ahd an incredible run at the WSOPE, having won the €25,000 high roller event earlier in the series for his first bracelet and $871,986 USD. The win saw Farrell complete poker’s triple crown, with major titles won in WSOP, World Poker Tour, and European Poker Tour events.

Joining Ho and Farrell among the final 12 are British poker pro Jack Salter and 2015 WSOPEurope main event champion Kevin MacPhee, who will look to defend his title (there was no WSOPE held in 2016) and capture his third bracelet with a run in this event.

Play resumed on day 4 with 46 players remaining. Among the notables to hit the rail throughout the day were two-time bracelet winner Kristen Bicknell (18th – €31,377), German high-stakes regular Rainer Kempe (22nd – €31,377), 2015 Card Player Player of the Year winner Anthony Zinno (24th –
€31,377), popular Twitch streamer Parker “tonkaaaap” Talbot (25th – €26,530), bracelet winner Mike Leah (39th – €22,895) and 2016 Card Player POY David Peters (44th – €20,175).

The final 12 will resume play at noon local time at the King’s Casino on Thursday, November 9.

Here is a look at the chip counts heading into the final day:

1Maria Ho3,850,000
2Niall Farrell3,575,000
3Marti Roca De Torres3,260,000
4Robert Bickley2,885,000
5Stepan Osinovski2,360,000
6Jack Salter2,125,000
7Luis Rodriguez2,020,000
8Andrei Boghean1,900,000
9Mathijs Jonkers1,850,000
10Gianluca Speranza1,070,000
11Kevin MacPhee1,060,000
12Marc MacDonnell505,000