Ben Zamani Wins 2017 WSOP $1,500 Omaha Hi-Lo Split 8 or Better


Ben Zamini, a German-born US citizen wins the first Omaha bracelet of the 2017 World Series of Poker in the early hours of Sunday morning. Ben Zamani reminded the poker world that he’s just as good, if not better at the World Series of Poker by winning his second career bracelet.

The bracelet win was Zamani’s second. His earlier success came in a $1,500 No-limit Hold’em tourney in 2015. 29 players began the day with chips in the first limit event on the 2017 World Series of Poker‘s tourney slate, assuring a tough test for whomever walked away with the victory. Zamani, runner-up Jared Hemingway, and third-place finisher Alex Ferrari entered three-handed play roughly equal in chips, but Ferrari’s cards turned cold there, with the bulk of his chips going to Zamani.

Zamani, a German-born US citizen now living in Florida, entered heads-up play with a nearly 3:1 lead over Hemingway. However, the battle wasn’t done, despite hefty blinds that caused wild swings in the two men’s chip stacks. Before being knocked out, Hemingway doubled up twice on all-ins and chopped several other all-in hands as well.

The end came after the day’s official final level, Level 30, had concluded. Zamani and Hemingway agreed to play one extra level. By this juncture Zamani had built more than a 10:1 edge, and after scooping a hi-only hand with a jack-high straight to Hemingway’s trip fours, Zamani had Hemingway down to 20,000 chips, less than a single small blind.

After one chopped hand, Zamani closed out the action with a six-low, playing a five and a four from his hand, and a modest pair of tens. Hemingway, though, couldn’t beat either half, and the win was Zamani’s. The $238,620 payday pushed Zamani over $1.1 million in career WSOP winnings.

Other notables who finished in the money included Benny Glaser (120th), Dan Heimiller (108th), Brandon Shack-Harris (92nd), Shirley Rosario (76th), Tuan Le (42nd), Humberto Brenes (36th), Marco Johnson (23rd) and Jim Collopy (17th).

Here’s a look at the final table results.

FinishPlayer NamePayoutPOY Points
1Ben Zamani$238,620912
2Jared Hemingway$147,428760
3Alex Ferrari$103,471608
4Ryan Paluf$73,647456
5Gary Vick$53,171380
6Forrest Auel$38,946304
7Scott Buller$28,948228
8Martin Corpuz$21,839152
9Dustin Sitar$16,72676


Source: and