10 More Hold’em Tips: Should You Ever Limp-Reraise?

3

Even new no-limit hold’em players tend to learn early on that most of the time — and for a variety of reasons — it is better to open with a raise than to limp before the flop.

Like everything in poker, this isn’t a hard-and-fast rule with no exceptions. Sometimes circumstances make limping a viable option, including in multi-way pots where it appears you can limp in after others and see a flop cheaply with great pot odds.

NLHE Poker in Midtown.

$1/2 or $2/5 ‪#‎NLH‬ ‪#‎poker‬ event today! Come, Join the action & Get 10% buy in BONUS

Text “SPblog” to (347) 471 1813 with full name, email & occupation!

But if it folds to you and you are opening the action, limping generally works as an invitation to others to raise after you. If you’re limping with a speculative hand — like a small pocket pair, two random suited cards, unsuited connectors, and so on — you’re likely not going to want to limp and then call a raise, especially if you’ll be out of position after the flop.

You see weak players do that a lot, actually — limping, then calling. The limp was a passive play (calling the big blind, not raising), and so was the call that came afterwards. A lot of inexperienced and/or lesser-skilled hold’em players tend toward passivity, which is why you’ll see them limp-calling before the flop.

Every once in a while, though, you might see a player make what is in most cases an unusual play before the flop — limping in, then reraising. In other words, the player unexpectedly goes from being passive to being aggressive, all on the same betting round!

Why would a player do this, though? Under what circumstances is the limp-reraise ever a good play to make before the flop?

Check out the full article on Poker News.